West Virginia University Logo

The Jon Michael Moore Trauma Center Night of Recognition

Honoring the individuals in our communities who help trauma patients along their road to recovery.

On Oct. 13, the WVU Medicine Jon Michael Moore Trauma Center honored three patients during the Seventh Annual Night of Recognition. This year's patient honorees were:

  • Luke Mertz of Kitzmiller, Md., who was injured in a dirt bike accident;
  • Bill Ross of Waynesburg, Pa., who was injured in a motorcycle accident; and
  • Randy Ash of Sistersville, who was injured in a hunting accident.

Each year, the Night of Recognition recognizes the many individuals who comprise the Trauma Team.  These people include not just the trauma doctors, but also the first responders, the nurses, lab and x-ray, the respiratory therapist, clergy, environmental services and rehabilitation post-hospital care to name a few.

Proceeds from the Night of Recognition also help to support educational grants for trauma outreach programs.  This year we were able to present the “Butch” O’Hagan EMS Scholarship as well as three JMMTC EMS Educational Scholarships.  These scholarships enabled the receiver to attend the West Virginia State EMS Conference, which was held at Canaan Valley Resort on Oct 19th-21st, 2016.  Congratulations to this year’s recipients:

  • Joseph Strait, Tucker County EMS (“Butch” O’Hagan EMS Scholarship)
  • Robert Dawson, KAMP
  • Scott Maxwell, Rowlesburg Volunteer Ambulance
  • Thomas “TJ” Sirbaugh, Gilmer County EMS


Through sponsorship and ticket sales, proceeds of the Night of Recognition will provide crucial funds to the School of Medicine Department of Surgery to help support the life-saving work of the JMMTC which provides outreach, teaching, research and service to your trauma system team, your community, and your families.